Lofts

Today while on my lunch break at work, I wanted to use a small gift card I had, so I walked up to Powell’s to look for a good magazine to read in the sun. Yes, sun! There was sun in Portland today! Surprisingly, Powell’s has a pretty poor selection of magazines and quarterlies, so I walked through my favorite room: the one with the cookbooks, gardening books, and books on houses. Without any real direction or focus, I was meandering down the aisles just looking for something to jump out. On the end of one the aisles, there was a cart of books to return back to the shelf. On it I found this little gem of a book: Lofts by Jeffrey Weiss.

Upon first glance, I knew this was the book I’d be taking home. It was published in the 70s, but the aesthetic is very current.  I flipped through it with an architect friend while sitting in the park, and he said that this is the kind of thing he refers to at work. He said that at his firm, they don’t look t0 anything newer than 30 years for design inspiration, as more contemporary buildings haven’t withstood the test of time.

Remove the clunky tvs and maybe some of the appliances, and you’d think these photos were from some new design blog. Instead, they’re straight out of 1979.

____________________
All photos scanned from Lofts by Jeffrey Weiss.

4 comments

  1. Amazing. So, so amazing.

  2. dera

    last night, I finally got around to watching the ken burns shaker documentary. I knew my parent’s always had shaker style furniture, and I can remember passing through shaker villages on road trips as kids, but I never knew the history or their story. how could such a conservative, traditional, and old group of people have such a (what we now consider) “modern” aesthetic? now i realize it was just that- their religion- that determined their minimalism, but oh so neat. (i’m not a huge ken burns fan, but I recommend that doc.)

    all that to say, I hope that the reaction to contemporary shortcuts in architecture and urban planning is great. and that I think we share similar interests as well. 😉

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Dera. I really don’t know much about it either, but am super curious now. Especially because I totally trust you and your outlook on it. xo

Leave a Reply

